Day Three

A really rough night, but my temperatutre started to drop sometime around dawn and I was able to spend the day staggering around town doing interviews. But it is astonishingly hard to get the message out. Every station has its own agenda. Today, one accused me of betraying my “comrades” in MI6, one ran a piece which suggested Shaker was a close friend of Osama Bin Laden, while a third only wanted to talk about Edward Snowden! And still no sign of the big four showing any interest in Shaker’s plight: ITN, BBC, Sky or CNN. We’re waiting for them, but all the time we wait, my energy and ability to string a coherent sentence together are fading.

There’s one thought that keeps me going through these periods when the task seems impossible and I’m sure it’s the same for everyone who is working or fasting on this. It’s the thought of Shaker in his cell on that dirty mattress, starving, too weak to get up, pepper sprayed and beaten each day as he is dragged out and lashed to the chair in the feeding room. We have to make it stop.

4 thoughts on “Day Three

  1. Chris Rose

    Given your MI6 background, what you are doing is so important. Hard as it may be for you, I know you will stick with it. Let’s hope for more media attention. Thinking of you.

    Reply
  2. Mike Sampey

    Dear Harry, Your posts help me feel that the world hasn’t gone completely mad & that compassion for humanity still exists. Thank-you x

    Reply
    1. gusonk17 Post author

      Thanks for that. Much appreciated. I find that the lack of food is really hitting my powers of concentration now, so the last few posts may get slightly mad……

      Reply

Leave a Reply

