Launch minus one

It is the last hour before midnight and the fast has effectively begun. Despite a weekend of “free” fruit, I am already painfully hungry. But it doesn’t really matter. I know I don’t have to face the horror of someone ramming a steel-tipped feeding tube down my throat. By comparison with that, simply being hungry seems almost pathetic.

There was a good piece about the hunger strike in the Observer today and someone asked if this protest should be seen as “anti-American”? It shouldn’t. I have many good friends in the United States, two of them in the CIA. I travel there often. Almost all the Americans I have met are decent people and many of them are just as worried about this issue as I am. If you have a friend who you believe is doing something very wrong and you try to put them right, does that mean that they are no longer your friend? I hope not.

Leave a Reply

